AnsweredAssumed Answered

ADSP-SC57X serie questions

Question asked by jipihorn on Oct 18, 2017
Latest reply on Oct 28, 2017 by jipihorn

Hello everybody,

It's been a long time I was searching for a TQFP chip that has some computing power. I found very, very few stuff in this category as anything with some power has its i/o number exploding and resulting of some BGA package, unusable for easy prototyping and with huge waste of I/O.

So, after hours of searching, I found a very few FPGAs (like MAX10 from Altera) or some ARM stuff with cortex cores. Lately, I found this DSP series which is exactly what I was searching for.

So, as soon I found this, I tried to dig into the documentation to get a precise overall picture of this chip and the interaction with outside hardware, booting possibilities, programming methods, available OS and so on.

To my disappointment, exactly like any other manufacturers I studied, it is near impossible to do so. The documentation is close to useless in this context, except if one takes a very long time to read the hardware reference documents (thousands of pages), datasheets and so on to try to assemble all the dispersed (basic) information. In fact, manufacturer does not seem to know that, at the beginning, when somebody has to choose some chips from several manufacturers, only some specific information are relevant. And Analog Devices is no exception.

After hours reading, I don't have a precise understanding of the ecosystem of these chips. Mainly because the documents heavily use of acronyms that I have to learn without defining them directly on datasheets. It seems that manufacturers suppose that readers already know all of these as a prerequisite. But when somebody searches for chips, it is absolutely not the case.