AnsweredAssumed Answered

Need some help selecting a DSP chip to use, some questions

Question asked by justin-zazzi on Jul 2, 2017
Latest reply on Jul 9, 2017 by justin-zazzi

I'm an engineering student and this is my first post.  I'm hoping this is the best place.

I would like to build a DSP with the specifications listed at the bottom of this post.  I have spent some time browsing the SigmaDSP processors and I believe the ADAU1401A will do most of what I want and includes both ADC/DAC, but the ADAU1452 seems much more powerful however I would need to specify and design the ADC/DAC stages as well (I'm not opposed to this, just need to learn how to do that too).  This will be a multipurpose learning project with possible applications as a car audio processor, or a 2.1 processor for a desktop speaker system, or a 4.0 processor for a bluetooth speaker system.  Eventually I will concentrate on selecting a bluetooth module, audio amplifier, power supply and battery charger, but those will be other posts later.

My questions are:

1) Should I concentrate on the two SigmaDSP chips I listed above, or should I also consider something from Blackfin or SHARC or TIGERsharc too?  I read the SHARC chips sometimes have more ram or longer time delay abilities.

2) I assume the SigmaStudio is the best environment to program all of these DSP chips, correct?

3) How much time/effort is involved in using the ADAU1452 chip and building the ADC/DAC sections myself with performance at least comparable to the ADAU1401A?  Is this something I could reasonably do, or is there a lot of circuit-board level finesse that would be difficult to learn quickly?