AnsweredAssumed Answered

AD5933 measuring unknown impedance and setting proper resistors

Question asked by greyesgt on Jul 1, 2016
Latest reply on Apr 13, 2018 by Mnzars

Hello, I am new to working with the AD5933 and impedance measurements. I am interested in measuring impedance between two 3M medical electrodes placed on the surface of the arm/forearm. I am interested in cross sectional impedance with opposing electrodes on the arm in one setup similar to impedance tomography. In another setup, I am interested in neighboring impedance with electrodes next to each other on the same side of the arm. I am not using a 4-electrode setup similar to bioimpedance analysis.

I have started out by using the AD5933 evaluation board and two electrodes. In particular, I’m interested in measuring (potentially small) relative impedance fluctuations when certain arm exercises/movements are performed. I’m not necessarily interested in what the absolute values of impedance are, but capturing the change in impedance. In particular, I am interested in maximizing the relative impedance changes I'm measuring at a given range. Most of the fluctuations I've seen are only 10-20 ohms, making it difficult to distinguish my movements.

(1)

The first part is about determining the unknown impedance range I should be focusing on. Related work places arm/hand skin impedance anywhere between 1kohm to 100kohm, or lower for dry skin and such. In other words, what is the appropriate impedance range (Zmin – Zmax) I should be focusing on for my experiment? Based on my understanding, the impedance range determines the resistor choice for Rfb and Rcal (or vice versa?).