AnsweredAssumed Answered

Expected outputs to go with example flow graphs

Question asked by Exray on Jul 1, 2016
Latest reply on Jul 30, 2016 by Exray

I am trying to learn about GNURadio and provide support to colleagues with less time and computer experience for an upcoming project using two AD9625's with the goal of streaming the output to a linux PC for graphing/processing. I am not an RF expert and need to come up to speed quite a bit.  I'd like to confirm the test setups have working drivers/programs and better understand making successful connections so that problems doesn't confuse setup issues with otherwise working hardware.

What I have available:

ZC702+FMCOMMS5 with latest SD image from ADI wiki instructions

Linux PC running GNU Radio Live SDR with persistence, with compiled in support for libiio, libad9361-iio and gr-iio. I can see/add FMComms stuff.

(In a week or more, the goal is to replace the FMCOMMS5 with our board with the 2xAD9625, which sounds like we'll need to make a custom block for in place of the FMCOMMS5 sink/source blocks).

So other than reading the tutorials (and more), running the examples seem like good way to get a better handle on how things work and tweak from a working setup to see how changes affect the output. But I can't seem to find the expected output other than what is used in the tutorials I've come across. I can see from reading this forum that some of the examples are out of date and would/may not work anymore as-is.  Knowing what the output should be would confirm whether things are working as expected, if there is something impairing the setup, or just using the wrong values.

I tried to copy and modify a flow graph I saw on this forum from a person having driver issues that took in a sine, triangle, square and saw tooth waveform and am able to build it, but the outputs displayed do not match my expectations, which is clean output of the sine, triangle, square and saw tooth waveforms.