AnsweredAssumed Answered

ADV7171 fuzzy output issue

Question asked by Dr.Lightning on Mar 6, 2011
Latest reply on Mar 7, 2011 by Dr.Lightning

My custom DM6467T board, generally derived from the EVM reference design, has instead an ADV7171 chip for video output, using the ADV7170 driver than came with my git download.  I had to modify the driver's default values for the ADV7171 mode registers, but now I have video output.  See "ADV7171 video output SYNC issues"  http://ez.analog.com/thread/6306?tstart=0 for more information, but I believe my fuzzy issue is independent of the sync issue.

This is NTSC.

The top half of my synthesized image is green, YUV=(95,82,82), but the bottom half is a bright whitesh magenta or something, YUV=(100,131,131).  The green looks good on my display.  The other color randomly moving dots of noise plus a barely visible slight diagonal pattern of more-blue vs more-white, slowing moving across the screen.

While I'm an expert at digital design and programming, including much mixed signal, I'm new to video.  In NTSC, is the color due to RELATIVE PHASE of the chroma modulation that's on top of the luma?  Is my green color in a "safe area" where small errors [in phase?] don't cause much difference, while my bright whitesh magenta or something is in a different area [of the gamut] where small errors [in phase?] cause significant problems?

Please let me know what your thoughts are.  I need to be sure of what the problem is before I spend too much time trying to fix that problem!