AnsweredAssumed Answered

ADV7171 video output SYNC issues

Question asked by Dr.Lightning on Mar 6, 2011
Latest reply on Mar 7, 2011 by Dr.Lightning

My custom DM6467T board, generally derived from the EVM reference design, has instead an ADV7171 chip for video output, using the ADV7170 driver than came with my git download.  I had to modify the driver's default values for the ADV7171 mode registers, but now I have video output.

However, I have a sync issue.  While I'm an expert digital electronics designer and programmer, I'm new at video.  I'll call this a "frame" or "field" sync issue, as opposed to a line sync.  I believe one would also call this a vertical sync issue.

I'm displaying a synthesized image, where I'm filling my buffer, for example, with all green.  When I do this, things display fantastically.  This particular shade of green is YUV=(95,82,82).  I used U=V because is allows me to do a memset() into the YUV422 semi-planar buffer that has U & V interlaced.

I next modify the bottom half of the buffer (actually bottom half of the Y half (aka 2nd quarter) plus bottom half of the UV half (aka 4th quarter)).  I vary the values I put in.  My objective is to make the bottom half of the screen magenta.  When I put in YUV=(100,190,190), things look great.

When I put in YUV=(100,191,191), things go bezerk.  My display shows a small black bar across the center.  I'm confident this is the vertical blank between fields, and what I'm seeing is my monitor synced incorrectly.  There's also a flashing gray bar at top.  When I look at the scope, configured for video triggering, I should see a vertical blank very 16.7ms.  I see this.  However, periodically I also see AN EXTRA vertical sync that's offset about half as much from the others, at close to 8.4ms.  This extra vertical sync that I see on the scope seems consistent with what I'm seeing on the monitor.