AnsweredAssumed Answered

Question about Blackfin SPI Port  with hardware driven slave selects

Question asked by KWM on Nov 19, 2010
Latest reply on Nov 22, 2010 by KWM

Hi:

I'm new to Blackfin, using an EZ-DSP Blackfin 506 Kit and have run into a small problem with the Hardware Driven Slave select, using Core derived transfers.  I have configured SPI0 as a master, and have two devices that I would like to select between by using the SPI0_FLG register.  Each slave select works correctly when selected, and the selected slave_select goes active low during the transmission.  However, the deselected slave select stays low, or in the asserted state.  I was expecting the deselected slave_select to be high.  From the hardware manual it appears that the PORTF_MUX , PORTF_FER, and PORTF_CTL need to be set up, and then writes to the SPI0_FLG register select which slave select goes active.

Here are the two routines I use, each is called prior to a transmission on the desired device :  PF14 and PF15 are the pins being probed

void SPI_IF_Init(void)                    // Ths routine Initializes the SPI0 for Slave_Select_3

{

*pPORTF_MUX |= 0x0050;    // Force SPI Function ( 1st Alternate ) for PF10 - PF14
*pSPI0_CTL         &= ~( TIMOD );                                 /* Clear 2bit Timer Mode Field */
*pSPI0_CTL         |=     ( SPE | MSTR | SIZE | PSSE | GM | TDBR_CORE);
*pSPI0_CTL         &= ~( WOM | CPOL | CPHA | LSBF | EMISO | SZ );
*pSPI0_FLG           |=  (FLS3);                                    /* Enable SPI0_Slave_Select_3  */
*pSPI0_FLG         &= ~(FLS2);                                    /* Disable SPI0_Slave_Select_2  */
}

void SPI_SYN_Init(void)                    // Ths routine Initializes the SPI0 for Slave_Select_2

{

*pPORTF_MUX |= 0x0050;    // Force SPI Function ( 1st Alternate ) for PF10 - PF14
*pSPI0_CTL         &= ~( TIMOD );                                 /* Clear 2bit Timer Mode Field */