AnsweredAssumed Answered

Problems understanding FIR on ADSP-21369

Question asked by JohnPower on Aug 25, 2010
Latest reply on Sep 29, 2010 by JohnPower

Hello,

I'm quite new to DSP and am trying to implement an adaptive FIR filter for active noise cancellation on the ADZS-21369-EZLITE evaluation Board.

The desired number of coefficients is around 300. The first thing that came to my mind, was whether the processing to adapt the coefficients (using LLMS) and generate an output sample is fast enough. I've adapted the block-based talk through (C) to give my processing function one sample at a time.

Programming my algorithm straightforward (without using compiler/hardware-specific code) got me two loops. The compiler optimized the first one to have 4 cycles (trip count is half the number of coefficients-1):

[Info] This loop executes 2 iterations of the original loop in estimated 4 cycles.

[Info] Trip count = 149

and the other one is executed in 9 cycles (trip count=no. of coefficients-1)

[Info] This loop executes 1 iteration of the original loop in estimated 9 cycles.
[Info] Trip count = 299

This gives me 3287 instructions to be carried out between to samples (for my estimation I ignored the overhead). Multiplying it with the instruction cycle time (2.5ns) tells me that the generation of each output sample takes around 8,2µs. Given a sample frequency of 96kHz (2 channels, each 48kHz) means that the SPORTisr is called every 10.4µs. Enough time for my algorithm... At least in theory. Can anyone who has a better understanding of DSP confirm my estimation? Problem is, when I run the code (even with only 150 coefficients) it stucks in the "ProcessingTooLong" function