AnsweredAssumed Answered

ADSP 2181 processor stops execution of main routine

Question asked by VictorEngineer on May 6, 2014
Latest reply on May 29, 2014 by VictorEngineer

Hi ,

I am a firmware engineer for a bio tech company in Texas. I was working on a legacy product refresh project when we ran into some issues.

This board was about 20 years design, and lot of the components had reached end of life. So we decided to keep the main architecture and components the same and replaced the obsolete components with an FPGA and new USB controller chips.

we built prototypes and tested them, all were working great with the stock firmware. we built new firmware only for the FPGA that was mimicking the glue logic and old usb transceiver , and the new cypress usb controller.

We ordered 9 boards with the new design confident we have tested it with the prototype.

only 4 boot up, 5 are not responding.

We currently do not have any debugging tools. What we are doing is forcing the microcontroller ( ST10R167) firmware to write to a unused USB register address, and monitoring the address bus using a signaltap on the fpga.

With the dsp, we are injecting dummy  i/o reads to various addresses in various locations in the firmware (which is written in assembly), programming it and then observing the data bus to indicate that particular write.

So we only have the information on if a certain part of code gets hit.

What we are seeing is that the DSP stops running its Main loop.

This routine is supposed to just keep calling itself at the end of the routine like an infinite loop. All other major functions are interrupt driven.

one of the continuous ADC read operations is done by feeding the SCLK ( serial clock from SPORT1) back into IRQ2 pin. This ISR fires correctly, and we see that the routine executes the 5 read operations correctly and timely. But there is no evidence of the main loop running after a few loops.