AnsweredAssumed Answered

AD977XA Output Stage

Question asked by qgm on Oct 8, 2013
Latest reply on Oct 17, 2013 by qgm

Hi,

I'm designing a circuit around the AD977XA series (specifically, the AD9778A) of high-speed DACs. I'm not too experienced so wanted to get some general feedback/background/context on the output stage. I will be updating the AD9778A at 50 MHz and generating signals from DC to 1 MHz. I want to design an output stage that takes the balanced current output and makes it acceptable for an amplifier that has +/- 1 V bipolar input with 50 ohm input impedance.

From what I can tell, at the default Imax = 20 mA, I can short each of DAC positive/negative outputs to ground with a 50 ohm resistor to get +/- 1 V differential voltage. At this point, I have investigated a few options.

1. ADA4940 fully differential opamp: I would use only one of the two differential outputs (leaving the other floating) and feed the voltage between the Vout+ and the common voltage Vocm to my amplifier. At the output, I would insert a 50 ohm series resistor. Hence, in order to get +/- 1 V into the 50 Ohm bipolar input of my amplifier, I would need to set the gain to 4.

2. AD8273 difference amplifier: This would seem like the most straightforward option. Again, at the output I would use a 50 ohm series resistor and then use the configuration that gives me a gain of 2 (which would require no external feedback resistors).

3. Forget all of these specialized amplifiers and just use a low-noise precision opamp (e.g. ADA4898 or AD4817) and a standard differencing circuit.