AnsweredAssumed Answered

Analog Front End for ADCs

Question asked by JoshuaK on Mar 7, 2013
Latest reply on Mar 8, 2013 by ColemanR

Hi all,

I am working on a small personal project. It will be a small DSP based mixer that will mix together a few different audio sources. I have decided on the SigmaDSP chip I want to use, and I'm now trying to work out the analog front ends needed to make it all go. The problem is I'm not very good at analog.

Here is a small summary of my 8 inputs:

Input 1 and 2 - In Ear Left and Right - These will take the feed from an in ear wireless pack. It's designed to drive headphone type loads, and according to the specs will do 100mW into 32 Ohms.

Input 3 - Intercom - Feed from an intercom beltpack. According to specs on one of the beltpacks I've seen, it'll do 60mW into 150 Ohms.

Input 4 - Radio - Feed from a two-way radio. I haven't been able to find exact specs, but this is the signal that drives the speaker mic, so I'm guessing it's meant for 8-16 Ohms at a decent power level. I generally have to keep the volume control pretty low when feeding this signal into something else.

Input 5 and 6 - Ambient - The idea here will be to have a couple of small mics clipped to me that can be selectively added to my mix to let me hear the room around me, even with my full block in ear monitors in my ear canals. They will probably be electrets (for ease of use and size).

Input 7 and 8 - Microphone in - Mic in for my voice. Only one will be active at a time. In my prototype the main one will be a dynamic. The second input is for an electret that may never be used, but I've got the input channel so I want to be ready for it.