AnsweredAssumed Answered

Application circuit for SSM2018T arranged as dual output VCA's?

Question asked by Davis65 on Sep 24, 2012
Latest reply on Oct 15, 2012 by ColemanR

I have been using thousands of Analog Devices SSM2018T, since 1999, in guitar pedals I manufacture. I feed the guitar signal into an OP Amp designed as a pre-amp, before it enters the SSM2018T, VCA, at pins 6 and 7.  I use the "Typical Application Circuit" from page 3 of the Analog Devices Data Sheets. The "Typical Application Circuit" from page 3 only shows one output--who's connections are Vout, (coming from pins 3 and 14) and V-, (coming from pins 16 and 10).  On the first page of Analog Devices SSM2018T Data Sheets there is a picture of the Functional Block Diagram.  This Functional Block Diagram shows two outputs. My questions are as follows; I would like to see an Application Circuit using these two outputs?  Will both of these outputs act as a VCA, as in the Typical Application Circuit with one output?  In  the SSM2018T Detailed Functional Diagram on page 9 of Analog Devices SSM2018 Data Sheets, A3 appears to be an internal OP Amp. The "Typical Application Circuit" from page 3 shows an 18K resistor from pin 14 to pin 3.  Is this like the feedback loop of an non-inverting OP Amp, where you can increase, or decrease the resistor between pins 14 and 3?  When I try to change the value of the 18K seems to me I have had negative audio results, I wonder why?  Should I be able to alter the gain of A3 by resistance between pins 14 and 3, or should it always be 18K?  If hooked up as a dual output VCA-- as it appears by the Functional Black Diagram on page 1 of the data sheets, A4 appears to be the other output.  If that is the case, what resistance value would go between pins 4 and 16---(if)--that resistance is acting like a feedback loop in A4?  From the data sheet diagram on page 9, logic tells me A3 and A4 are two VCA controlled outputs, is that correct? I may be wrong, but it appears to me bot