AnsweredAssumed Answered

AD9959 Understanding and Accounting for Power Loss with Frequency

Question asked by Chris2017 on Jan 10, 2018
Latest reply on Jan 11, 2018 by KennyG

Hello all,

I apologize if this is the wrong place to ask things like this.

I've got more of theory based question today (I'm relatively new to signal processing/etc).

As this is the case I'm happy with just being told what sort of things I should research - the main issue seems to be that I don't know what I don't know.

For context, for the past month or so I've been building a signal generator using an AD9959 and an arduino due.

The purpose of this build was to get 3 channels outputting simultaneously, 1 channel having a constant frequency and the other 2 channels both doing independent frequency sweeps and amplitude ramps - this I have managed to do. The latter was achieved by using a for loop to assign amplitude values to the registers - this was done due to the limitations of the inbuilt amplitude ramping of the DDS, namely with a 500MHz the slowest I could get the ramp intervals was 2.048 us, an order of magnitude too fast for my purpose.

Now, an issue that I have been aware of for a while is that I get a variation in power with frequency - attached is a graph of some data illustrating this (I have set the power output to 'max' in the ACR register for each frequency).

My frequency range of interest is from ~20-110MHz.

My colleagues do not believe that my cables/wiring are the main reason this is happening, rather they suspect it has something to do with how the DDS works.